Strategic Business Positioning For Course Creators

Strategic Business Positioning For Course Creators

Want to get your audience to buy? It’s all about positioning.

No ad review for you today. We’ve got something far more important to talk about.

Donald Miller has launched a new online course – Small Business Flight School.

It’s a 6-month program priced at $2,495

His promise is to double your revenue in 12 months. 

Just sit back and think about that for a second. It ticks all the boxes:

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Time-bound
  • Highly Desirable
  • Solves a #1 Pain Point

But that isn’t why I’ve included it today. 

I want to talk about the lead magnet Don has released for Small Business Flight School.

It’s called – Double Your Revenue Challenge.

What do you get? A simple two-page document that, in Don’s own words:

This free worksheet will help you determine what you need to do to meet the goal of doubling your revenue within just 12 months. With this worksheet, you’ll…

  • Work smarter with what you already have
  • Map out your growth plan
  • Align your team around the same goal

To doubling your revenue,

In the worksheet, Don gets you to list the revenue increases for each specific product you offer to double your business.

He gets you to go through a simple but precise process and physically write out your growth targets.

Let’s play a game for a minute. Pretend you are $500,000-per-year business.

You have just created a written plan to generate $1,000,000 revenue in the next 12 months.

And then Don asks you for just $2,495 to turn your plan into reality.

I’d say that’s a GRAND SLAM OFFER.

So now think about your business.

What could you give your audience for free that would future position them into their dream outcome?

The answer will very rarely be more information.

Swipe:

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New A.I. Tools To Grow Your Online Business

New A.I. Tools To Grow Your Online Business

Tired of stumbling through cold calls like a drunken penguin on ice?

Trellus app to the rescue! It’s like having a smooth-talking sales guru whispering sweet success tips in your ear, helping you book more meetings and leaving your competitors scratching their heads.

>>> Read more

Get the best of both worlds: automation with a sprinkle of human charm!

Who needs customer support when you can have a fully managed bot platform that scales your business faster than Usain Bolt? Join the bot revolution and conquer the world… or at least your inbox!

>>> Read more

Conquer social media with stunning carousels even if you can’t draw a stick figure.

This snazzy app transforms you into a creative genius, effortlessly crafting eye-catching content with AI’s magical touch. Get ready to dazzle the digital world and make your competitors weep with envy!

>>> Read more

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Latest News 051823

Get ready to ride the TikTok advertising wave like a pro

TikTok just dropped a new hub to help brands slide into its DMs and get cozy with its audiences. From tips and tricks to product roadmaps, this hub has everything advertisers need to become TikTok sensations.

>>> Read more

Buckle up, folks! Twitter’s got a new CEO

And she’s got some serious challenges ahead. From repairing relationships with advertisers to dealing with those elusive blue verification badges, this blog post spills the tea on the hurdles she’s about to face. It’s gonna be a wild ride, so grab your popcorn and get ready to witness the chaos!

>>> Read more

Meta is finally issuing refunds to advertisers after a glitch caused overspending and chaos.

However, it seems like smaller advertisers are still waiting in line while the big spenders get their money back faster, leaving everyone wondering how Meta calculates its payouts. It’s like waiting for a refund at a theme park – the line is long, the process is slow, and you’re not sure if you’ll get the full amount.

>>> Read more

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Launch Newsletter Issue #00049

You’re viewing an email archive of The L.A.U.N.C.H. newsletter.

Join free to receive the weekly newsletter keeping course creators and membership site owners in the know-how.

L – Latest News

Get ready to ride the TikTok advertising wave like a pro

TikTok just dropped a new hub to help brands slide into its DMs and get cozy with its audiences. From tips and tricks to product roadmaps, this hub has everything advertisers need to become TikTok sensations.

>>> Read more

Buckle up, folks! Twitter’s got a new CEO

And she’s got some serious challenges ahead. From repairing relationships with advertisers to dealing with those elusive blue verification badges, this blog post spills the tea on the hurdles she’s about to face. It’s gonna be a wild ride, so grab your popcorn and get ready to witness the chaos!

>>> Read more

Meta is finally issuing refunds to advertisers after a glitch caused overspending and chaos.

However, it seems like smaller advertisers are still waiting in line while the big spenders get their money back faster, leaving everyone wondering how Meta calculates its payouts. It’s like waiting for a refund at a theme park – the line is long, the process is slow, and you’re not sure if you’ll get the full amount.

>>> Read more

A – A.I. For Growth

Tired of stumbling through cold calls like a drunken penguin on ice?

Trellus app to the rescue! It’s like having a smooth-talking sales guru whispering sweet success tips in your ear, helping you book more meetings and leaving your competitors scratching their heads.

>>> Read more

Get the best of both worlds: automation with a sprinkle of human charm!

Who needs customer support when you can have a fully managed bot platform that scales your business faster than Usain Bolt? Join the bot revolution and conquer the world… or at least your inbox!

>>> Read more

Conquer social media with stunning carousels even if you can’t draw a stick figure.

This snazzy app transforms you into a creative genius, effortlessly crafting eye-catching content with AI’s magical touch. Get ready to dazzle the digital world and make your competitors weep with envy!

>>> Read more

 

N – Now Launching

Want to get your audience to buy? It’s all about positioning.

 

No ad review for you today. We’ve got something far more important to talk about.

 

Donald Miller has launched a new online course – Small Business Flight School.

 

It’s a 6-month program priced at $2,495

 

His promise is to double your revenue in 12 months. 

 

Just sit back and think about that for a second. It ticks all the boxes:

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Time-bound
  • Highly Desirable
  • Solves a #1 Pain Point

 

But that isn’t why I’ve included it today. 

 

I want to talk about the lead magnet Don has released for Small Business Flight School.

 

It’s called – Double Your Revenue Challenge.

 

What do you get? A simple two-page document that, in Don’s own words:

This free worksheet will help you determine what you need to do to meet the goal of doubling your revenue within just 12 months. With this worksheet, you’ll…

  • Work smarter with what you already have
  • Map out your growth plan
  • Align your team around the same goal

To doubling your revenue,

 

In the worksheet, Don gets you to list the revenue increases for each specific product you offer to double your business.

 

He gets you to go through a simple but precise process and physically write out your growth targets.

 

Let’s play a game for a minute. Pretend you are $500,000-per-year business.

 

You have just created a written plan to generate $1,000,000 revenue in the next 12 months.

 

And then Don asks you for just $2,495 to turn your plan into reality.

 

I’d say that’s a GRAND SLAM OFFER.

 

So now think about your business.

 

What could you give your audience for free that would future position them into their dream outcome?

 

The answer will very rarely be more information.

Swipe:

C – Conversion

Are you making these Facebook ad scaling mistakes? 

 

Discover how to run low-cost, high-converting campaigns without falling into these common traps. 

 

Here are 5 secrets to successful scaling: 

 

Scaling Facebook ads can be challenging. One misstep can cost you big time. But worry not! In this thread, we’ll share the top mistakes to avoid & strategies to scale your campaigns like a pro. Let’s dive in!

 

Start small: Test different ad creatives & target audiences before scaling. Gradually increase the budget when you see positive results.

Use lookalike audiences: Leverage data from high-performing campaigns to target similar, high-converting audiences.

 

Track & optimize: Keep an eye on key metrics like CTR, CPA, & ROI. Continuously optimize your ads based on performance.

Don’t fix what’s not broken: If an ad set is performing well, don’t make drastic changes. This can disrupt your results.

 

Stay updated on Facebook’s ad policies: Avoid ad disapprovals & account bans by staying compliant. Regularly review your ads & targeting options.

Diversify placements: Use a mix of ad placements (news feed, stories, etc.) to reach more potential customers.

 

To run low-cost, high-converting campaigns, avoid scaling mistakes by testing, targeting, tracking, and staying updated on policies. Apply these tips today and watch your campaigns soar!

 

H – Hot Take

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Just keep going…..

 

P.S. If you like this newsletter and want to support it, you can:

1) Join the waitlist for Lead2Launch next enrollment date here: https://michealoneill.com/join-the-waitlist
2) Forward this newsletter to a friend with an invitation to subscribe right here: https://michealoneill.com/launch 

Optimal CPA Strategies for Course Creators

Optimal CPA Strategies for Course Creators

Optimal CPA Strategies for Course Creators

Optimal CPA Strategies for Course Creators

Profitable front-end Facebook Ad campaigns may be killing your business. 

 

If you sell digital products and you only focus on front-end profitability you may be destroying  your long-term growth.

 

So the question becomes, how do I pick the best Cost Per Acquisition for me?

 

Let’s dive in:

 

Course creators & membership site owners, are you ready to discover a formula to calculate the optimal Cost per Acquisition (CPA)? It’s not just about front-end profitability but also considering long-term gains. 

 

The Optimal CPA Formula:

 

Optimal CPA = (Customer Lifetime Value – Desired Profit) * Conversion Rate

 

By taking into account Customer Lifetime Value (LTV) and desired profit, you’ll find the perfect balance between initial acquisition costs and long-term revenue. 

 

Example:

 

LTV: $2,000

Desired Profit: $1,000

Conversion Rate: 5%

Optimal CPA = (2,000 – 1,000) * 0.05

Optimal CPA = 1,000 * 0.05

Optimal CPA = $50

 

In this example, the optimal CPA is $50, meaning you can spend up to $50 to acquire customers while still maintaining your desired profit. 

 

This approach helps you look beyond front-end profitability and consider the entire customer journey. By focusing on long-term revenue, you’ll be able to scale your campaigns more effectively and outpace competitors who only focus on immediate gains. 

 

RECAP: Calculating the optimal CPA helps you strike the perfect balance between acquisition costs and long-term profitability. Use the Optimal CPA Formula to make informed decisions about your ad spend and boost your digital product sales

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Uncover the Keys to an Effective Challenge Opt-In Page

Uncover the Keys to an Effective Challenge Opt-In Page

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One of the biggest problems for people in the Personal Development space is making their promise concrete and specific. Healing your past, aligning with your purpose, and unlocking your potential is great, but I don’t really know what that means.

Further, there is no transformation anywhere in the above-the-fold section. This leaves it up to my audience to imagine what life will be like for them once they achieve all these things.

From a positioning and messaging perspective, this message will only resonate with solution or product-aware people. And that is fine if you have a big audience, but if you have a small audience, it’s possible you won’t have enough of those people to make it work.

Mastin is massively successful, and I know he will fill this challenge and get massive results for the people who attend. And I also feel for the people who don’t have Mastin’s audience and struggle to get the results they want.

If Mastin was here, he would argue that to be any more specific would devalue and dilute the magic of what he makes possible for people.

The takeaway for you if you are in the Personal Development space. How can you make your promises as concrete and specific as possible while holding true to your principles and mission?

Oh, and I love this section for the bottom of a free opt-in page where the “Buy Now” block would normally go on a sales page!

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Launch Newsletter Issue #00048

You’re viewing an email archive of The L.A.U.N.C.H. newsletter.

Join free to receive the weekly newsletter keeping course creators and membership site owners in the know-how.

L – Latest News

Instagram’s changing things up and rebranding Branded Content Ads to Partnership Ads!

This means more opportunities for brands and creators to partner up and create killer content together. So, if you want to up your ad game and get those click-through rates soaring, read on! Don’t be left in the dust, join the partnership ad party!

>>> Read more

Instagram and Facebook are taking it to the next level with Reels!

They’re bringing AR Ads to Reels and Facebook Stories, making it easier for advertisers to reach their audiences with augmented reality and create unforgettable experiences! Don’t miss out on all the Reels action, read on and get ready to create some killer content!

>>> Read more

LinkedIn is at it again!

This time, they’re experimenting with generative AI prompts for posts. That means you could get AI-generated suggestions for a first draft of your next LinkedIn post.

>>> Read more

A – A.I. For Growth

A.I. Prompt of the Week

Prompt Objective: 

 

Prompt Outline:

 

I want you to act as an expert market researcher and audience profiler. 

 

My product/membership is {…..}, and it helps people do {….}.

 

My avatar is {….}

 

Please identify the 5 major pain points and frustrations experienced by my avatar.

 

For each pain point or frustration please elaborate what is keeping them stuck or preventing them from taking action.

 

Please also provide an overview of what they think the ideal solution is.

 

Prompt Use Case

  • Avatar research
  • Content creation
  • Post opt-in email sequence creation
  • Offer page copy creation
  • Pre-launch workshop content identification
  • Course and membership content creation

Latest A.I. Tools

Do you hate taking meeting notes and drafting follow-up emails?

With Briefly, you can transform your meeting transcripts into polished documents and personalized action items, all without lifting a finger. Request early access now and get ready to boost your productivity to new heights!

>>> Read more

Effortlessly extract data from any web page

With autonomous crawling, unblocking capabilities, and a powerful API, you’ll have the data you need in no time. Plus, you won’t have to worry about constantly changing website structures, CAPTCHAs, or maintenance. Just set it and forget it!

>>> Read more

Looking to revolutionize your customer management?

Your very own tailored CRM will be ready for action. Say goodbye to the headache of implementation and hello to saving time and money.

>>> Read more

U – Uplevel Ads 

One size does not fit all. 

 

Proof that there is more than one way to skin a cat this week with an interesting approach from Mastin Kipp.

 

Mastin is a well-known personal development coach. He has a range of online courses, live events, and retreats.

 

I spotted he is running a 10-day challenge from May 17th – 25th. 

 

I decided to investigate! 

 

Mastin has a large Instagram following of 280k people. 

 

But, I knew from an earlier funnel deep dive that Facebook Ads weren’t his #1 way of promoting his business.

 

Here’s what I found:

blank

This is clearly an organic Instagram post being run as an ad. Because there is no call to action button, it is likely a boosted post. I strongly advise against this method, but that’s a topic for another day. We can tell the ad is being run solely on Instagram as it doesn’t have a link in the copy, and it directs people to Click the link in the bio for further information.

 

3 Elements To Inspire Your Ad Campaigns:

  • If you spend time and money creating content, why not put some ad spend behind it? One simple strategy is to take your 3 best-performing organic posts every week and put $10 – $20 behind them. It will grow your audience, following, and reach. Social may be free, but creating content isn’t. So if you calculate the cost of creating posts spending an additional $60 per week to get the most return from them just makes sense.

 

  • Engagement can reduce your CPM significantly. If you have a lead generation or sales ad you know will perform well, run it with an engagement objective first to get likes and comments (bonus points if you can target your existing customers). Then, use the ad/post ID in a lead or purchase conversion ad.

 

  • Try different things. I don’t think this ad will directly result in many Challenge registrations. However, I think it will bring many new people into Mastin’s world. If Mastin has a deliberate strategy to convert people from Instagram followers to clients, this is a great strategy. I am a big fan of following best practices…. until I don’t. If you are experimenting, do it with a limited budget and never have a financial outcome dependent on an experiment.

 

Swipe:

 

N – Now Launching

blank

One of the biggest problems for people in the Personal Development space is making their promise concrete and specific. Healing your past, aligning with your purpose, and unlocking your potential is great, but I don’t really know what that means.

 

Further, there is no transformation anywhere in the above-the-fold section. This leaves it up to my audience to imagine what life will be like for them once they achieve all these things.

 

From a positioning and messaging perspective, this message will only resonate with solution or product-aware people. And that is fine if you have a big audience, but if you have a small audience, it’s possible you won’t have enough of those people to make it work.

 

Mastin is massively successful, and I know he will fill this challenge and get massive results for the people who attend. And I also feel for the people who don’t have Mastin’s audience and struggle to get the results they want.

 

If Mastin was here, he would argue that to be any more specific would devalue and dilute the magic of what he makes possible for people.

 

The takeaway for you if you are in the Personal Development space. How can you make your promises as concrete and specific as possible while holding true to your principles and mission?

 

Oh, and I love this section for the bottom of a free opt-in page where the “Buy Now” block would normally go on a sales page!

blank

Swipe:

C – Conversions 

Profitable front-end Facebook Ad campaigns may be killing your business. 

 

If you sell digital products and you only focus on front-end profitability you may be destroying  your long-term growth.

 

So the question becomes, how do I pick the best Cost Per Acquisition for me?

 

Let’s dive in:

 

Course creators & membership site owners, are you ready to discover a formula to calculate the optimal Cost per Acquisition (CPA)? It’s not just about front-end profitability but also considering long-term gains. 

 

The Optimal CPA Formula:

 

Optimal CPA = (Customer Lifetime Value – Desired Profit) * Conversion Rate

 

By taking into account Customer Lifetime Value (LTV) and desired profit, you’ll find the perfect balance between initial acquisition costs and long-term revenue. 

 

Example:

 

LTV: $2,000

Desired Profit: $1,000

Conversion Rate: 5%

Optimal CPA = (2,000 – 1,000) * 0.05

Optimal CPA = 1,000 * 0.05

Optimal CPA = $50

 

In this example, the optimal CPA is $50, meaning you can spend up to $50 to acquire customers while still maintaining your desired profit. 

 

This approach helps you look beyond front-end profitability and consider the entire customer journey. By focusing on long-term revenue, you’ll be able to scale your campaigns more effectively and outpace competitors who only focus on immediate gains. 

 

RECAP: Calculating the optimal CPA helps you strike the perfect balance between acquisition costs and long-term profitability. Use the Optimal CPA Formula to make informed decisions about your ad spend and boost your digital product sales

 

H – Hot Take

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It’s not a matter of if. It’s only a matter of when. As long as you don’t give up.

 

P.S. If you like this newsletter and want to support it, you can:

1) Join the waitlist for Lead2Launch next enrollment date here: https://michealoneill.com/join-the-waitlist
2) Forward this newsletter to a friend with an invitation to subscribe right here: https://michealoneill.com/launch 

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Turning Organic Instagram Posts into Profitable Ads

Turning Organic Instagram Posts into Profitable Ads

One size does not fit all. 

 

Proof that there is more than one way to skin a cat this week with an interesting approach from Mastin Kipp.

 

Mastin is a well-known personal development coach. He has a range of online courses, live events, and retreats.

 

I spotted he is running a 10-day challenge from May 17th – 25th. 

 

I decided to investigate! 

 

Mastin has a large Instagram following of 280k people. 

 

But, I knew from an earlier funnel deep dive that Facebook Ads weren’t his #1 way of promoting his business.

 

Here’s what I found:

blank

This is clearly an organic Instagram post being run as an ad. Because there is no call to action button, it is likely a boosted post. I strongly advise against this method, but that’s a topic for another day. We can tell the ad is being run solely on Instagram as it doesn’t have a link in the copy, and it directs people to Click the link in the bio for further information.

 

3 Elements To Inspire Your Ad Campaigns:

  • If you spend time and money creating content, why not put some ad spend behind it? One simple strategy is to take your 3 best-performing organic posts every week and put $10 – $20 behind them. It will grow your audience, following, and reach. Social may be free, but creating content isn’t. So if you calculate the cost of creating posts spending an additional $60 per week to get the most return from them just makes sense.

 

  • Engagement can reduce your CPM significantly. If you have a lead generation or sales ad you know will perform well, run it with an engagement objective first to get likes and comments (bonus points if you can target your existing customers). Then, use the ad/post ID in a lead or purchase conversion ad.

 

  • Try different things. I don’t think this ad will directly result in many Challenge registrations. However, I think it will bring many new people into Mastin’s world. If Mastin has a deliberate strategy to convert people from Instagram followers to clients, this is a great strategy. I am a big fan of following best practices…. until I don’t. If you are experimenting, do it with a limited budget and never have a financial outcome dependent on an experiment.

 

Swipe:

Unraveling Primary Pain Points with ChatGPT

Unraveling Primary Pain Points with ChatGPT

Unraveling Primary Pain Points with ChatGPT

Unraveling Primary Pain Points with ChatGPT

 

Prompt Objective: 

  • Identify primary pain points and frustrations of your audience 

Prompt Outline:

I want you to act as an expert market researcher and audience profiler. 

My product/membership is {…..}, and it helps people do {….}.

My avatar is {….}

Please identify the 5 major pain points and frustrations experienced by my avatar.

For each pain point or frustration please elaborate what is keeping them stuck or preventing them from taking action.

Please also provide an overview of what they think the ideal solution is.

Prompt Use Case

  • Avatar research
  • Content creation
  • Post opt-in email sequence creation
  • Offer page copy creation
  • Pre-launch workshop content identification
  • Course and membership content creation

 

blank

Latest News 051123

Instagram’s changing things up and rebranding Branded Content Ads to Partnership Ads!

This means more opportunities for brands and creators to partner up and create killer content together. So, if you want to up your ad game and get those click-through rates soaring, read on! Don’t be left in the dust, join the partnership ad party!

>>> Read more

Instagram and Facebook are taking it to the next level with Reels!

They’re bringing AR Ads to Reels and Facebook Stories, making it easier for advertisers to reach their audiences with augmented reality and create unforgettable experiences! Don’t miss out on all the Reels action, read on and get ready to create some killer content!

>>> Read more

LinkedIn is at it again!

This time, they’re experimenting with generative AI prompts for posts. That means you could get AI-generated suggestions for a first draft of your next LinkedIn post.

>>> Read more